Suboxone: The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

Gain knowledge and share experiences with Suboxone, to obtain support through coming together with one bond in common-To help, support and educate others.
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Everyone's opinion

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Blue Eyes
Admin
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 535
Age : 55
Humor : When you know better, you do better....Oprah Winfrey
Registration date : 2012-01-23

PostSubject: Everyone's opinion   Sat 01 Sep 2012, 10:30 am

I noticed this option has been idle to long so I'm going to update and bring it back !


I love my doctor - he's been in a psychiatrist for maybe 30 years. He's been a Suboxone provider since it came to the United States.
He specializes in Drug Addiction. He understands addicts.

He will listen to me when I'm there, and I never feel rushed.

When my husband and I decided that I was going to go on Suboxone we called a few doctors in the area. Most were just WAY to much money to start.
One wanted $750 for the Induction month. affraid Others were pretty darn close.
My doctor was honest, he's not trying to become a millionaire he wants to help people. He charged $150 first month and $100 each month after.
That's nothing compared to what I spent while in addiction. Nothing !!!

Most importantly, he's not rushing me to get off of this. I strongly feel I need time to heal. I messed my brain up. The first visit he told me, just BE HAPPY.
I wasnt sure I remembered how !!


Rate my provider?

A++ !!! cheers


_________________
Join us for live chat every Tuesday night at 7:30pm EST !!!

NEVER take any online advice over that of a qualified healthcare provider.
Any information you read here should only serve to inspire you to investigate further with credible, verifiable referenced sources or your doctor.
Back to top Go down
MonicaS

avatar

Female
Number of posts : 189
Age : 43
Humor : Recovery is a journey to be taken not a destination to be reached.
Registration date : 2012-01-18

PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Fri 21 Sep 2012, 8:25 pm

Hello ladies. As you all know, I love my provider and I couldn't have gotten luckier when I got out of rehab. I was seeing another doctor in the same practice and was unable to go on that day so they moved my appointment and I finally had a provider that I could relate to and more importantly he could relate to me. He is a recovering addict and he was successfully treated with suboxone and weaned off. He has been absolutely wonderful. He has allowed me to stay in control of my taper and although he doesn't require group attendance, he encourages it strongly. For me that was the missing piece of the puzzle. I had been clean before both on and off suboxone, but other than not taking the pills, my life didn't change. I was still in active addiction with my thinking and lifestyle, I just wasn't using. Going into groups has given me the connection and accountability I needed. I have learned to trust people again and how to have friendships based on mutual respect instead of what someone can or can't do for me. My groups have allowed me to work on the real problem...me and the way I used to cope with life. I used to live and used to live. My entire life was consumed by my addiction and with the combination of suboxone and 12step fellowship work I have gotten it back. I don't think either would have done me much good without the other. Speaking of that, I found a book by an addiction specialist called "Healing the Addicted Brain". It speaks of the combination and how much it increases the likelihood of success. If you have time check it out.

Much love. And I too would give my provider an A+
Back to top Go down
nannamom
Admin
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 2207
Age : 60
Humor : Once you choose hope, anything’s possible. -Christopher Reeve
Registration date : 2008-11-09

PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Sat 22 Sep 2012, 5:56 pm

Great idea Blue!
I first rated my provider back in 2010 on another thread, same area just a different thread.
I am still happy with her. Over the years she has added groups to her practice. Not only addiction but life as well. Currently I attend the women's group and still see my counselor once a week. I couldn't be happier

I am lucky to have one of the best in our town.
She also rates an A++

_________________
Nannamom
db622@hotmail.com


"I will let yesterday end so that today can begin."


Last edited by nannamom on Sun 11 Nov 2012, 11:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://www.suboxoneassistedtreatment.org
nannamom
Admin
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 2207
Age : 60
Humor : Once you choose hope, anything’s possible. -Christopher Reeve
Registration date : 2008-11-09

PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Sat 22 Sep 2012, 6:07 pm

Oh and I wanted to add. That book Monica, I have read it or went through it anyway. My counselor has a copy and shared it with me. I didn't have the chance to read it thoroughly as I was somewhat bogged down at the time but from what I did read, it is a good one.
I would like to borrow it back at some point so that I can actually sit down with it.
Thanks for sharing
Dee

_________________
Nannamom
db622@hotmail.com


"I will let yesterday end so that today can begin."
Back to top Go down
http://www.suboxoneassistedtreatment.org
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Tue 18 Dec 2012, 5:22 am

I saw this wasn't posted in for a few months so I thought I'd pop in, post about my provider and bring it back!

My provider is named Dr. Nowak at EDM Treatment Centers. (EDM - Every Day Matters)

Dr. Nowak is a great doctor. He is very understanding and listens well. He is a really nice guy. He is always there when I have questions and he makes sure if I have a question it is covered thoroughly and I understand completely. He never let's me leave the office confused at all! He didn't get upset at all with me when I struggled with my dose when I first started comin to him. I can call him anytime and he will ca right back! He's only at EDM Modays and Fridays. (He also works at a methadone clinic) But he still returns my calls on the days he's not in te office!

You see before Dr. Nowak I went to a different treatment place called Recovery Pathways. And I absolutely hated the doctor. She didn't really listen and always rushed me out I there.

Dr. Nowak likes to take him time and he never makes me feel like he is rushing out of his office.
He makes sure I have medications for ALL of my medical needs. Mental/addiction related and no. Addiction related problems. He treats my addiction. He treats my adult ADHD, he treats my depression, my bi-polar disorder. He even treats my reatless leg syndrome. Most doctors that soecialize in addiction will only treat you for addiction related problems. Like the doctor at recovery pathways. I was just screwed with my depression, bi polar disorder and ADHD!

Dr. Nowak is by far the best doctor I have ever been treated by in y life and I wouldn't trade for another doctor in the world!!

I also see a therapist at EDM Treatment Center. Her name is Debbie. Now I'm not sure she counts as a provider but her and the other therapist Steve founded the treatment center. If it wasn't for them I don't know where I'd be. Definitely not where I am today.

I have seen a few therapist in my life. And I was I ly comfortable enough to talk to two of them. I saw a man for 4 years until he moved when I was 15. That was the beginning of my addiction. I hadn't seen a therapist in 5 years until I started treatment. The roar therapist in treatment at Recovery Pathways was horrible. All he did was nod his head and smile like he wasn't even paying attention when I had asked him a question. I just got a bad vibe from him I guess.

Back to Debbie. Without her and the other therapist Steve (who I see when Debbie is out, he is also a great therapist) EDM would not exist. Debbie and I have gotten pretty close over these past 5 months. I saw her while I was going to recovery pathways because I needed a therapist and I met her and she was great. She even did it pro-bono, absolutely free! Because my insurance would pay for me to see both therapists! She made sure I was always taken care of. She even called me on her day off on the weekend to let me I ow that there was finally an opening in their program and starting that week I could get prescribed the sub from Dr. Nowak.
I couldn't believe he had taken the time to call me, on her own time!
I see Debbie once a week. And I wouldn't have it any other way. She listens intently, answered my questions accurately and leaves me without wonder, she has never made me feel like a dead eat drug addict like the therapist at recovery pathways. He once told me "You come in here acting like you're scoring a ball of crack or something" He really offended me. Debbie makes me feel and treats me like any other normal person! She is the best!
Back to top Go down
nannamom
Admin
avatar

Female
Number of posts : 2207
Age : 60
Humor : Once you choose hope, anything’s possible. -Christopher Reeve
Registration date : 2008-11-09

PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Tue 18 Dec 2012, 7:09 pm

Thank you for posting about your provider and therapists Jasmine. Yes, your therapists do count.
I strongly believe that therapy and medication assisted recovery do well, very well together.
This just goes to show that there really are some great providers/teams out there. You may have to look to find the right one for you but they are there.

Also thank you for posting about Recovery Pathways. It will serve to warn others.
I hate the attitude that you described with them.
We already know that we are addicts and surely don't need to be reminded at every step of the way. If you don't want to treat us with respect and kindness, then get out of the business.

Kudos to you Debbie, Dr. Nowak and the rest of the staff at Every Day Matters, the name says it all. Every day does matter.

_________________
Nannamom
db622@hotmail.com


"I will let yesterday end so that today can begin."
Back to top Go down
http://www.suboxoneassistedtreatment.org
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   Tue 18 Dec 2012, 7:52 pm

Thanks Dee.
I share my stories simply because I know, if somebody reads it whether somebody on the forum or somebody who is looking to start recovery or someone who is in the very beginning, reads it then I might be able to help them in any way that I can!

I hope that my posts whether it be this one warning people about Recovery Pathways. Or my post about my story help people in some way. Somebody who was in a similar position to me might just read MY story and I could be the success story that leads them to choose to seek help and start suboxone.

I just want to help people in the ways that you all have helped me! Smile

XOXOXO-Jasmine
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Everyone's opinion   

Back to top Go down
 
Everyone's opinion
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Who or what is god, in your opinion?
» Knocked Back for Sleeve - Getting Second Opinion
» OGCC decides on NKTI deal
» Jeudi 2 décembre - WikiLeaks
» warranty period

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Suboxone: The Light At The End Of The Tunnel :: Suboxone Issues :: Rate Your Provider-
Jump to: